Why do Firefox and Chrome want to kill EV certificate

In the latest versions of Firefox and Chrome, when visiting HTTPS sites using EV certificates, the address bar does not display the green lock icon and company information, instead, it displays the same gray lock icon as DV certificate sites.

As early as August this year, Firefox announced that it would cancel the special display of EV certificates when it released 70.0 in October. The reasons are:

  1. Additional company information confuses users and takes up screen space;
  2. It is emphasized that ev certificate affects user's cognition and delays the progress of default HTTPS experience that makes users imperceptible;
  3. Users do not care about the green mark of EV certificate, and the anti fraud effect is not significant.
  4. Safari has been hiding company information since last year.

However, they are more radical than Safari, just showing a gray icon. The news is seen as a major negative for the certificate industry. The EV sellers who claims to be able to turn the browser address bar green, have 10000 sentences of mother fuck in their mind, and I don't know who they can talk to.

There has been a long-standing conflict between the browser and the certificate provider. It's not the first time that Chrome and certificate providers are in conflict. In August, it proposed to reduce the validity period of the certificate, which was rejected. So, is EV certificate really unnecessary?

EV & UI Design

In today's 1920 wide display resolution, the width left for the browser address bar is at least 1200 pixels. In the Firefox interface, there is a blank space before and after the address bar; on the left side is the privacy icon, on the right side is the reading mode and plug-in shortcut icon. It's reasonable to say that there's such a long company name as "宝鸡有一群怀揣着梦想的少年相信在牛大叔的带领下会创造生命的奇迹网络科技有限公司", but can't even "PayPal Inc." or "Apple Inc."?

Of course, browsers don't always run with maximized windows. How does Firefox deal with address bars? They hide part of the URL. So why can't corporate information get the same treatment? I've seen some people who almost never enter the URL manually. They are always searching for keywords in search engines and clicking links to enter the website. For these people, both of confusing URLs and complex buttons are useless. Just hide them, which can save a large amount of screen space.

n the mobile version, the horizontal space is indeed very less, and even only the domain name is displayed by default, and the complete URL can be seen after clicking. So it's not difficult to display EV information in two lines on the domain name.

Although users are lazy, they are not stupid. Company information is confusing, not a problem; the latest version of Firefox only shows "certificate issued to: PayPal Inc." which is the source of confusion. When clicking on the company information, you will be prompted with the words "Verified by XXX, this website is operated / owned by PayPal Inc." Anyone will know what does that mean.

EV and imperceptible HTTPS

What Mozilla and Google think of imperceptible HTTPS is that whatever you are using EV / OV / DV, it will all display as a small black lock. After all, in order to be imperceptible, they dare to hide http://www. Imperceptible HTTPS is also a non-existent requirement. Insecurity, transmission security and commercial security cannot be simplified as insecurity and security. The users are not the resistance of HTTPS promotion. Whether they can distinguish between black lock and green lock does not automatically make the website support HTTPS.

Even the autocratic Qing government knew that in order to carry out the order of shaving, it was enough to kill those who didn't want to wear pigtails. There was no need to kill Manchus who wear smaller pigtails. Imagine the Manchu soldiers saying to you, what we want is imperceptible pigtails, your hair is too short, which affects other people's cognition of the pigtails. Pull it down and kill him!

EV & Anti fraud

Users don't care about EV, which is the problem of browsers and certificate providers with poor publicity. Users don't care a lot, including HTTPS. Users are too lazy to type https://, the industry has proposed HSTS preload instead of giving up HTTPS.

Users don't care about the code signing certificates of Windows Drivers and Mac OS apps. Why don't you hide the signing information? Oh, I'm sorry. It's about Microsoft and Apple. Mozilla and Google can't help it.

Some users have just begun to pay attention to the meaning of green bar, and it is very helpful to fraud if EV is killed. If you receive an e-mail, there is a link https://www.аpple.com, which allows you to see the HTML source code. Do you dare to click it? Don't worry about the link, though it's not Apple's official website. So far it's still a non-existent site. The letter 'а' in the website is not an ordinary small letter A.

@ViafaSia also found a phishing site that used the let's encrypt method DV certificate. Each letter of apple in the website is another similar character. Here is another one, https://раураӏ.com , open it with your Firefox, and then open the real https://paypal.com . You will known, Mozilla is just an idiot which stands with Google. Chrome displays IDN domains in another ways.

You may have some tips to identify fake links, such as mouse over the links to see the real URL from the browser's status bar, or pay attention to whether it is an HTTPS link. But still can't escape the advanced phishing website.

EV & Safari

Although Safari has hidden EV company information for a long time, until the latest iOS / iPad OS 13.2 and Catalina, Safari still displays the green address bar for EV certificate sites. Google takes users as the puppet, to order the certificated sellers. Google's face says, 'if Apple dare to light the light, I dare to set it on fire'. Mozilla make wind behind Google, just like a dog.

It's always been easy for certification companies to make money. Google doesn't like it. When Chrome gets bigger, it has the right to speak. Finally, it can give directions. It's not enough to have Mozilla's support. By the way, it get Safari into the water to justify himself.

Some people say that EV is so expensive and doesn't support wildcard, it's not bad to suppress it. Google has the ability to launch competitive products to promote the development of the industry, but now it's going to kill EV directly.

What will happen to EV?

Maybe EV will quit the stage of history, maybe it will be reborn after all parties play games. It's time for them to take some action.

  1. The EV upstream enterprises pay money to browser. After all, their necks are in the hands of others, money should be divided;
  2. Provides a preload list like HSTS (or a better HPKP), and sites using EV certificates are automatically submitted to the list. The browser judges the similarity of domain names, once reaches the threshold, directly prompt users and report to anti fraud organizations;
  3. Reduce price, and popularize EV / OV to enterprises and organizations with the popularity of HTTPS.

使用 acme.sh 管理 Let’s Encrypt Wildcard SSL 证书

Certbot 可以申请 Wildcard 证书,但更新不便。

安装

curl https://get.acme.sh | sh

配置 API

编辑 ~/.bashrc ,加入以下内容(以 cloudflare 为例):

export CF_Key="123456789"

export CF_Email="[email protected]"

保存后,执行:

source ~/.bashrc

申请证书

acme.sh --issue --dns dns_fs -d dallas.lu -d *.dallas.lu

值得一提的是,如果有多个域名,各自使用不同的 DNS,可以参考以下命令:

acme.sh --issue \
-d dallas.lu --dns dns_cf \
-d *.dallas.lu --dns dns_cf \
-d a.com --dns dns_namecom \
-d *.a.com --dns dns_namecom \
-d b.com --dns dns_dp \
-d *.b.com --dns dns_dp

安装证书

acme.sh --install-cert -d dallas.lu \
--key-file /etc/nginx/certs/dallas.lu.key \
--fullchain-file /etc/nginx/certs/dallas.lu.fullchain.cer \
--reloadcmd "service nginx restart"

一切配置妥当后,开启 acme.sh 的自动版本更新:

acme.sh --upgrade --auto-upgrade

Using Let’s Encrypt Wildcard SSL Cert

Let's Encrypt has announced the official support of the Wildcard certificate FINALLY.

Apply

Run command on your VPS:

~/certbot-auto certonly \
-d dallas.lu \
-d *.ngrok.dallas.lu \
-d *.dallas.lu \
-d other.com \
-d *.other.com \
--manual \
--preferred-challenges dns \
--server https://acme-v02.api.letsencrypt.org/directory

Use --cert-name to set cert name, otherwise the domain name after the first '-d' param will be used as the cert name.

IP logged notice

The IP of the request machine will be logged, but it will not be public now. If worry about the important one of IPs on the VPS,you can modify the config files in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts and restart the network service to change your IP temporarily. Type 'Y' to continue.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: The IP of this machine will be publicly logged as having requested this
certificate. If you're running certbot in manual mode on a machine that is not
your server, please ensure you're okay with that.

Are you OK with your IP being logged?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(Y)es/(N)o: Y

DNS txt records

Add a txt record.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please deploy a DNS TXT record under the name
_acme-challenge.dallas.lu with the following value:

QQxHqbXK2aWM8qRWpAyenXo2QotSejV_ERnnc6MUEqU

Before continuing, verify the record is deployed.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Press Enter to Continue

TIPS: if you want root.com and *.root.com verified in the same cert, you should add the params for each domain, for example: '-d dallas.lu -d *.dallas.lu'. AND, you need add multiple txt records. Use 'nslookup' to verify:

nslookup
> set type=txt
> _acme-challenge.dallas.lu
Server:		8.8.8.8
Address:	8.8.8.8#53
 
Non-authoritative answer:
_acme-challenge.dallas.lu text = "I6Tys5RebMhWaBxN1e4fBaBj2OF7jUPl92tdDtfKjao"
_acme-challenge.dallas.lu text = "QQxHqbXK2aWM8qRWpAyenXo2QotSejV_ERnnc6MUEqU"

Cert

After verification:

Waiting for verification...
Cleaning up challenges

IMPORTANT NOTES:
- Congratulations! Your certificate and chain have been saved at:
/etc/letsencrypt/live/dallas.lu/fullchain.pem
Your key file has been saved at:
/etc/letsencrypt/live/dallas.lu/privkey.pem
Your cert will expire on 2018-06-13. To obtain a new or tweaked
version of this certificate in the future, simply run certbot-auto
again. To non-interactively renew *all* of your certificates, run
"certbot-auto renew"
- If you like Certbot, please consider supporting our work by:

Donating to ISRG / Let's Encrypt: https://letsencrypt.org/donate
Donating to EFF: https://eff.org/donate-le

We don't talk about configuring SSL certs now. If failed to verify some domains, just run the command again. The value of txt records will not change after verified.

CentrioHost 泛域名 SSL 证书续费事件

一年前在 http://www.v2ex.com/t/81933 获知消息,于是无脑入了两个。今年9月13号,Paypal 发来邮件说 Kamrul H. Bappy 通过循环付款向我收费 $5,我等了两天没有收到任何相关的邮件,就通过 Paypal 得知收款人是 CentrioHost 的。登录该站一看,什么订单信息都没有了,以为和 Godaddy 一样,既然用不到服务了,就申请退款吧。

Continue reading

Nginx 配置 Namecheap 证书

这年头,SSL 应用真是太广泛了——不仅仅是电子商务,连写个博客、建个论坛也会有人上个SSL——中国的网民们被活生生地逼成了一个个的网络工程师;自从有了GFW以后,劳苦大众的计算机知识水平与日俱增,上个小网页各种SSH、VPN,和米国等发达帝国国民大范围使用类似 iPad 等拥有傻瓜界面的数码产品形成鲜明对比。

Continue reading

Firefox 和 Chrome 为何要革 EV 证书的命

在最新版本的 Firefox 和 Chrome 中,访问使用 EV 证书的 https 站点时,地址栏不显示绿色的锁头图标和公司信息,取而代之的是和 DV 证书站点相同的灰色锁头图标。

早在今年8月份,Firefox 就宣布在10月发布 70.0 版本时将取消 EV 证书的特殊显示待遇。理由大致是:

  1. 额外的公司信息让用户迷惑,占用屏幕空间;
  2. 强调 EV 证书影响用户认知,耽误推进让用户无感知的默认 https 体验进程;
  3. 用户并不在意 EV 证书的绿色标识,反欺诈作用并不显著。
  4. Safari 从去年开始就隐藏了公司信息。

然而,他们比 Safari 更加激进,统一显示为灰色的图标。这一消息被看作是证书行业的重大利空。号称能让浏览器地址栏变绿的各大 EV 证书商,心里有一万句妈卖皮,不知能跟谁讲。

浏览器与证书商之间的矛盾由来已久,Chrome 㨃证书商也不头一次了,8月份时就曾提议缩减证书有效期,并遭到了拒绝。那么,EV 证书真的没有存在的必要了吗?

EV 与 UI 设计

在显示器分辨率普遍宽度为 1920 的今天,留给浏览器地址栏的宽度至少有 1200 像素。在 Firefox 的界面中,地址栏前后各有一块留白空间;内部左侧是隐私图标,右侧是阅读模式和插件快捷图标。这么空旷的地址栏,若说容不下「宝鸡有一群怀揣着梦想的少年相信在牛大叔的带领下会创造生命的奇迹网络科技有限公司」这么长的公司名还有点道理,可是连「PayPal Inc.」「Apple Inc.」都放不下吗?

当然浏览器也并非都是以最大化窗口运行的,Firefox 又怎么处理地址栏的呢?他们把 URL 藏起来一部分……那么,为什么公司信息不能得到同样的待遇呢?我见过一些小白用户,几乎从来不手动输入 URL,都是在搜索引擎查关键字,点击链接进入网站的;对这些人来说,让人迷惑的 URL 也没有什么用,复杂的按钮也没有什么用,干脆藏起来好了,这可是能省下一大块的屏幕空间的。

在移动版本里,横向的空间的确是非常有限,甚至默认只显示域名,点击之后才看得到完整的 URL。那么把 EV 的信息分成两行显示在域名上面,也不是什么难事啊。

用户虽然懒,但并不傻。公司信息让人迷惑,并不成为一个问题;最新版的 Firefox 中只显示了一句「Certificate issued to: PayPal Inc.」这种语焉不详的描述,才是让人迷惑的根源。点击公司信息时,提示一句「经 XXX 验证,该网站由 PayPal Inc. 运营/所有」,傻子都知道什么意思。

EV 与无感知 HTTPS

Mozilla 和 Google 认为的无感知 HTTPS 就是管你是 EV/OV/DV,统统显示个小黑锁好啦。毕竟为了无感知,他们都敢隐藏掉 http://www。无感知 HTTPS 也是一个不存在的需求,不安全、传输安全、商业安全并不能简化为不安全和安全。浏览者并不是 HTTPS 推广的阻力,浏览者能否区分黑锁和绿锁并不能自动让网站支持 HTTPS。

连专制的满清政府都知道,为了执行剃头令,只杀不愿留辫子的就行了,没必要连金钱鼠尾的小辫子旗人都杀掉。想象一下满清大兵对你说,我们要的是无感知辫子,你留的头发太少了,影响了其他人对辫子的认知,拉下去砍了!

EV 与反欺诈

用户不在意 EV,这是浏览器和证书商的问题,宣传不力。用户不在意的东西多了,包括 HTTPS。用户懒得敲 https://,业内提出了 HSTS Preload,而不是放弃 HTTPS。

用户也不在意 Windows 驱动和 Mac OS App 的代码签名证书啊,你们怎么不把签名信息藏起来呢?哦,抱歉,这是人家微软和苹果操作系统的事儿,Mozilla 和 Google 想管也管不着。

部分用户刚刚开始注意到了证书绿色的含义,废掉 EV 对反反欺诈的助力倒是很显著。如果你收到一封邮件,里面有一个链接「https://www.аpple.com」,允许你看 HTML 源码,你敢点开吗?放心地点吧,虽然这不是苹果官网。目前为止这还是一个不存在的网站。网址里的 а 并不是普通的小写字母 a。

推友@ViafaSia 还发现了一个经过 Let's Encrypt 办法 DV 证书的钓鱼网站,网址里的 apple 每一个字母都是相似的字符。这里还有一个,https://раураӏ.com ,请用您的 Firefox 打开,对比一下真正的 https://paypal.com 您就明白,Mozilla 跟 Google 站在一起是多么愚蠢,因为 Chrome 对 IDN 域名显示的方式并不一样。

你可能掌握了一些小技巧来识别伪装的链接,比如鼠标放在链接上看浏览器状态栏的真实网址,或者留意是否为 HTTPS 链接。但依然逃不过高级钓鱼网站。

EV 与 Safari

Safari 虽然早早地就藏起了EV公司信息,但直到最新发布的 iOS/iPad OS 13.2 和 Catalina,Safari 仍然为 EV 证书站点显示为绿色的地址栏。Google 携用户为天子,阻塞圣听以令各证书商诸侯,且一副「苹果敢点灯,我就敢放火」的州官嘴脸,Mozilla 则显露出跟在州官后面扇风的狗腿子姿态。

证书商们一直以来躺着挣钱,Google 看不顺眼,Chrome 做大了之后有了话语权,终于可以指手划脚了。有 Mozilla 支持还不够,顺便拉 Safari 下水来给自己正名罢了。

有人说,EV 那么贵,又不支持 Wildcard,打压一下也是好的。Google 完全有能力可以推出竞品来促进行业发展啊,但如今这架势看是要把 EV 直接打死了。

EV 会有何变化?

也许 EV 从此退出历史舞台,也许经各方博弈之后重获新生。证书商们也该采取点行动了。

  1. 由 EV 上游企业,向浏览器厂家交钱,毕竟脖子在人家手里掐着,赚了钱应该分点;
  2. 像 HSTS 一样,提供一个 PRELOAD 列表(或者更好用的 HPKP),使用 EV 证书的站点自动提交到列表中;判断域名相似程度,达到阈值且非 EV 证书直接提示用户并报告反欺诈组织;
  3. 降价,趁 HTTPS 普及之势,向企业和组织普及 EV/OV。

使用 acme.sh 管理 Let’s Encrypt Wildcard SSL 证书

Certbot 可以申请 Wildcard 证书,但更新不便。

安装

curl https://get.acme.sh | sh

配置 API

编辑 ~/.bashrc ,加入以下内容(以 cloudflare 为例):

export CF_Key="123456789"

export CF_Email="[email protected]"

保存后,执行:

source ~/.bashrc

申请证书

acme.sh --issue --dns dns_fs -d dallas.lu -d *.dallas.lu

值得一提的是,如果有多个域名,各自使用不同的 DNS,可以参考以下命令:

acme.sh --issue \
-d dallas.lu --dns dns_cf \
-d *.dallas.lu --dns dns_cf \
-d a.com --dns dns_namecom \
-d *.a.com --dns dns_namecom \
-d b.com --dns dns_dp \
-d *.b.com --dns dns_dp

安装证书

acme.sh --install-cert -d dallas.lu \
--key-file /etc/nginx/certs/dallas.lu.key \
--fullchain-file /etc/nginx/certs/dallas.lu.fullchain.cer \
--reloadcmd "service nginx restart"

一切配置妥当后,开启 acme.sh 的自动版本更新:

acme.sh --upgrade --auto-upgrade

使用 Let’s Encrypt Wildcard SSL 证书

Let's Encrypt 终于宣布正式支持 Wildcard 证书了。使用官方一直推荐的 Certbot 申请 Wildcard 证书,可以了解一下。

申请证书

在 VPS 上执行以下命令:

~/certbot-auto certonly \
-d dallas.lu \
-d *.ngrok.dallas.lu \
-d *.dallas.lu \
-d other.com \
-d *.other.com \
--manual \
--preferred-challenges dns \
--server https://acme-v02.api.letsencrypt.org/directory

可以使用参数 --cert-name 来指定域名证书,如没有指定,第一个 -d 参数后面的域名,会被当作证书名称。

IP 记录提示

执行之后会提示IP会被记录。不过请放心,尽管申请 IP 会被记录在案,但暂时还没有公开的计划。这一点对于有多个 IP 的 VPS 来说,有可能会造成出口 IP 泄露,如果你很在意的话,建议通过修改 /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts 中的配置文件并重启网络服务,来临时切换一个出口 IP。此处可输入 Y 按回车继续。

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: The IP of this machine will be publicly logged as having requested this
certificate. If you're running certbot in manual mode on a machine that is not
your server, please ensure you're okay with that.

Are you OK with your IP being logged?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(Y)es/(N)o: Y

DNS 验证

接下来是 DNS 验证的时间了,需要为域名增加一条 txt 记录。

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please deploy a DNS TXT record under the name
_acme-challenge.dallas.lu with the following value:

QQxHqbXK2aWM8qRWpAyenXo2QotSejV_ERnnc6MUEqU

Before continuing, verify the record is deployed.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Press Enter to Continue

友情提示一下,如果你打算把 root.com 和 *.root.com 签在同一张证书里,不仅要在命令使用 -d dallas.lu -d *.dallas.lu 来声明,而且还需要创建多个 txt 记录来验证。同名 txt 记录是允许存在多条的哦,每当提示 `Please deploy a DNS TXT` 时,就按照提示去创建一条 txt 记录。创建完成后,在使用 nslookup 命令来验证一下:

nslookup
> set type=txt
> _acme-challenge.dallas.lu
Server:		8.8.8.8
Address:	8.8.8.8#53
 
Non-authoritative answer:
_acme-challenge.dallas.lu text = "I6Tys5RebMhWaBxN1e4fBaBj2OF7jUPl92tdDtfKjao"
_acme-challenge.dallas.lu text = "QQxHqbXK2aWM8qRWpAyenXo2QotSejV_ERnnc6MUEqU"

证书签发

当你验证完全部域名后,顺利的话:

Waiting for verification...
Cleaning up challenges

IMPORTANT NOTES:
- Congratulations! Your certificate and chain have been saved at:
/etc/letsencrypt/live/dallas.lu/fullchain.pem
Your key file has been saved at:
/etc/letsencrypt/live/dallas.lu/privkey.pem
Your cert will expire on 2018-06-13. To obtain a new or tweaked
version of this certificate in the future, simply run certbot-auto
again. To non-interactively renew *all* of your certificates, run
"certbot-auto renew"
- If you like Certbot, please consider supporting our work by:

Donating to ISRG / Let's Encrypt: https://letsencrypt.org/donate
Donating to EFF: https://eff.org/donate-le

SSL 证书的配置就不缀述了。如果提示某域名未通过验证,重新执行命令之后,再按提示检查 DNS 设置即可。已经验证成功的域名,其 txt 记录的 value 是不用再修改的哦。

CentrioHost 泛域名 SSL 证书续费事件

一年前在 http://www.v2ex.com/t/81933 获知消息,于是无脑入了两个。今年9月13号,Paypal 发来邮件说 Kamrul H. Bappy 通过循环付款向我收费 $5,我等了两天没有收到任何相关的邮件,就通过 Paypal 得知收款人是 CentrioHost 的。登录该站一看,什么订单信息都没有了,以为和 Godaddy 一样,既然用不到服务了,就申请退款吧。

Continue reading

Nginx 配置 Namecheap 证书

这年头,SSL 应用真是太广泛了——不仅仅是电子商务,连写个博客、建个论坛也会有人上个SSL——中国的网民们被活生生地逼成了一个个的网络工程师;自从有了GFW以后,劳苦大众的计算机知识水平与日俱增,上个小网页各种SSH、VPN,和米国等发达帝国国民大范围使用类似 iPad 等拥有傻瓜界面的数码产品形成鲜明对比。

Continue reading